Located in Trinity Square on Mostyn Street in Central Llandudno is
the Church in Wales (Anglican) parish church of the Holy Trinity.
The church was built in 1872 to the designs of George Felton.
The history of the parish is recorded on the parish website.
In a dominant central position on Mostyn Street, opposite the Town
and located directly between two branches of Marks & Spencer,
Llandudno English Methodist Church of Saint John.
The church was built by the Wesleyan Methodists in 1866,
aided by a grant from the "Watering Places Fund"
established to provide Churches in the new holiday resorts.
Regular twice-weekly evening concerts by leading male voice
feature of St. John's, throughout the Summer.
OUR LADY STAR OF
The Roman Catholic church of Our Lady Star of the Sea (Ein
Harglwyddes Seren y Môr)
the junction of Lloyd Street and St. Mary's Road and was built by J.D.
of Knighton in Radnorshire to the designs of Edmond Kirby,
architect of Liverpool.
The church was dedicated on August 17th 1893 by Most Rev. Archbishop
assisted by the Bishop of Northampton, and the Bishop of Shrewsbury
in the presence of His Eminence Cardinal Vaughan, Archbishop of
The Church of Our Saviour at the junction of
Bryniau Road and Great
Ormes Road near the West Shore
was transferred from the Church in Wales to the
Llandudno Baptist Church a few years ago.
The church contains a baptismal font given as a memorial to Lewis
Carroll (Charles Dodgson).
The present church was built for the English Presbyterian
It is to the designs of T.G. Williams of Liverpool and the
is most effective when viewed from the inside where the 58 by 55 foot
beneath the massive conical shaped roof is uninterrupted by supporting
The present Congregation is the amalgamation of the local Congregations
English Presbyterian Church and the Llandudno United Reformed
The church is located at the junction
of Chapel Street with Gloddaeth Street.
Choir concerts are held in Gloddaeth United Church
throughout the Summer.
The Emmanuel Christian Centre (at
of Chapel Street with Lloyd Street)
This is an independent congregation loosely
affiliated to the Assemblies of God.
The building of 1909 is by W. Beddoe Rees for the Ebeneser Welsh
who abandoned it in 1972 when the lease expired. It comprises a
beneath the central dome with four corner offices or anterooms
schoolroom at the rear.
UNITED WELSH CHURCH
Cynnes I Bawb
Seilo is located at the
junction of Arvon Avenue with Gloddaeth
It was completed in 1905 to the design of G.A. Humphries for the Welsh
It has a traditional interior with a magnificent gallery and a total
capacity in excess of 1,000.
Today it is the home of the United Welsh Congregation in Llandudno. Capel Tabernacl
- Llandudno Heritage Centre
Y Tabernacl is located in Upper Mostyn Street. The Welsh
Baptists established their first church
at Llandudno in 1813 and the present church in 1875. This was
extended in 1902 by G.A. Humphries.
It was the first Nonconformist chapel in Llandudno to have a Sunday
School and a resident Minister
and the first to be registered for the solemnisation of marriage.
A remarkable internal feature
is a virtually unique "drainage" dressing room for baptismal candidates
after their immersion.
The chapel was used until 2006 by the United
Congregation in Llandudno and is now,
together with the adjoining schoolroom, being adapted for use as the
Llandudno Heritage Centre.
The schoolroom currently houses the 'Stori
THE COPTIC ORTHODOX
MARY AND SAINT ABASKHYROUN Trinity
The Coptic Orthodox Church was established in Llandudno in 2006
and it uses the former Ebeneser Welsh Methodist Chapel, which
had been in use until 2003 by the Llandudno United Welsh Church.
It was consecrated as a Coptic Church on March
29th 2008 by
His Holiness Pope Shenouda III, Pope of Alexandria and
Patriarch of the See of Saint Mark and Overseas. Part 2
- Churches in Outer Llandudno